The Colleges of Oxford

The 13th century saw the establishment of primitive halls of residence. These were succeeded by the first of Oxford's colleges, which began as medieval halls of residence or endowed houses under the supervision of a Master. University, Balliol and Merton Colleges are the oldest.

Each of the 38 colleges and 6 permanent private halls that form part of the University also boast a rich heritage.

Their crests, associated imagery and stunning architecture are part of the assets associated with the university, and represent valuable licensing opportunities in their own right.